Wesley Chapel CME Church

1026 Washington Street
Clarksville, Tennessee
Email: wesleychapelcmechurch@aol.com



The First Church of the Nazarene
150 Richview Road

Clarksville, Tennessee 37040

Church Mailing Address
P.O. Box 139
Clarksville, Tennessee 37041
Reverend Freda Hall, Pastor
Local Preacher
Reverend Charles Roman (Retired)

Our Welcome

We thank you for worshiping with us on this wonderful day of the Lord. Our church family offers a warm, spiritual and Christian fellowship to our visitors. We look forward to your coming again.   


Church Motto

I can do all things through Christ Jesus who strengthens me. - Philippians 4:13 (NKJV)
Pastor Freda Hall

Pastor Freda Hall

Wesley Chapel CME Church

Wesley Chapel CME Church


Direction to Church

  • I-40 W/I-65 N
  • Continue to Louisville continue to follow I-65 N 5.3 mi
  • Keep left at the fork to continue on I-24 W, follow signs for Clarksville/Interstate 24 W 33.8 mi
  • Take exit 11 for TN-76 toward Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Pkwy/Clarksville/Adams 0.3 mi
  • Keep left at the fork, follow signs for Clarkesville/Tennessee 76 W 138 ft.
  • Turn left onto TN-76 W/M.L.K. Jr Pkwy W 3.3 mi
  • Turn right onto Madison St (signs for Tennessee 76/Tennessee 112) 0.4 mi
  • Turn right onto Richview Rd
  • Destination will be on the left 0.5 mi

Church History

Wesley Chapel Christian Methodist Episcopal Church (the second oldest church in Clarksville, Tennessee) was founded in 1867 with a few members.  It was located on Tenth Street, Clarksville, Tennessee. When this burned, members acquired property on the south side of Franklin Street.

In 1876, Wesley Chapel Colored Methodist Episcopal Church was organized by the late Bishop Isaac Lane, one of the founders of the CME Church.

On August 22, 1882, James E. Bailey deeded the property on Franklin Street to the Colored Methodist Episcopal Church in America. Here the church erected a building in 1887.

The Church occupied this Franklin Street site until March 22, 1975, when a severe windstorm accompanied by lighting, collapsed a large section of the church building. Following this damage of this building, members held their worship services at Foston Funeral Home and Burt-Cobb Community Center.

On December 7, 1975, under the pastorate of the late Reverend J.F. Finley, the Church moved to its present location 1026 Washington Street, Clarksville. The Reverend Doctor R.G. Elam, Jr., was Presiding Elder and the late Bishop J. Madison Exum was Presiding Bishop. The congregation of the Nazarene Church previously occupied this building.

On August 25, 1997, the Church burned their Mortgage under the Pastorate of Reverend Freda Hall. The Reverend William O. Lowe was the Presiding Elder and Bishop William Henry Graves was Presiding Bishop.

Previous pastors include: Reverend C.H. Phillips (later became Bishop in the CME church), Reverend J. M. Mitchell, Reverend N. C. Cleaves (later became Bishop in the CME Church). Reverend T. H. Copeland, Reverend J.H. Cook. Reverend C.A. Craig, Reverend I.H. Jones, Reverend J.W. Smith, Reverend R. B. Polk, Reverend Howard, Reverend Alien, Reverend Jackson, Reverend P, J. Coleman ( the husband of the late Dr. Mattie E  Coleman) Reverend R.T. Moody, Reverend R. H. Anderson Reverend W.S. Rowe, Reverend Samuel, Reverend Elliott, Reverend A.J. Buckley, Reverend H. P, Hawkins, Reverend J. H. Britton, Reverend Spearman, Reverend H.W. Douglass, Reverend M.R. Austin, Reverend T.R. Crosslin (later became presiding Elder of the Nashville/Clarksville District), Reverend Arthur David, Reverend Dupree, Reverend J. F. Finley, Reverend A. Augusta, Reverend Elliott Augusta, Reverend Lennie Moore, Reverend Raymond Sommerville, Reverend Johnny Larkin, Reverend George Coleman, Jr., Reverend Franklin, Reverend Susie Holmes, Reverend D. Ward, Reverend T. J. Willingham, Reverend Freda Hall, and Reverend Carolyn Motton.

We thank God for the many accomplishments throughout its 147 years, and for helping Wesley to stand strong against trials and tribulations. Moreover, we pray to God that Wesley will continue to be a beacon of light in the community and reaches its greatest potential for rendering service in God and humankind.

At this time the Reverend Freda Hall serves as Pastor. The Reverend Dr. Ronald M. Powe, Presiding Elder and Bishop Henry M. Williamson, Sr., Presiding Prelate.